Gemini Award Winners Include Digital Media, Cross-Platform Programming ( Wins Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction)

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television has honoured cross-platform and digital media creators among 52 Gemini Award winners in the News & Sports, Documentary, Lifestyle and Reality programming categories.

Five Academy Special Awards were also presented in the first of three Gemini Galas.

“It’s truly wonderful to acknowledge and celebrate these great Canadian talents while surrounded by such an impressive group of individuals from the Canadian television and digital media industries,” said Helga Stephenson, Interim CEO, ACCT.

The Industry Gala was hosted by comedian Steve Patterson. (The Debaters).

The following awards were presented at last night’s Gemini Industry Gala:

Barbara Sears Award for Best Editorial Research Jane Burgess, Andrew Easterbrook, Jonathan Woodward – The Pig Farm

Best Biography Documentary Program Mordecai Richler: The Last of the Wild Jews Mary Armstrong, David Sherman

Best Breaking News Coverage CBC News: Here & Now: Hurricane IgorDoug Letto, Rod Dobbin

Best Breaking Reportage, Local Francis D’Souza, Alfredo Colangelo – CityTV – G20 Summit

Best Breaking Reportage, National Adrienne Arsenault – CBC News The National – Pakistan Floods

Best Cross-Platform Project – Children’s and Youth Babar and the Adventures of Badou Interactive Caitlin O’Donovan

Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction Matthew Hornburg, Mark J. W. Bishop, Ted Brunt, Julie Dutrisac, Johnny Kalangis

Best Cross-Platform Project – Non-Fiction Storming Juno InteractiveJames Milward, Ryan Andal, Noora Abu Eitah, Pietro Gagliano, Steve Miller

Best Direction in a Documentary Program Michael McNamara – Acquainted With the Night

Best Direction in a Documentary Series P.J. Naworynski – Nazi Hunters – Erich Priebke

Best Direction in a Lifestyle/Practical Information Program or Series Grant Greschuk – Village on a Diet – Beyond the Diet

Best Direction in a Live Sporting Event Chris Elias – 2010 Queen’s Plate

Best Direction in a News Information Program or Series Oleh  J. Rumak – the fifth estate – Above Suspicion

Best Documentary Series Africa on the Move Sue Dando, Peter John Ingles, Paul Morin

Best History Documentary Program Nazi Hunters: Herbert Cukurs Simon Lloyd, Nick Godwin

Best Host in a Lifestyle/Practical Information, or Performing Arts Program or Series Gail Vaz-Oxlade – Princess – Princess Nicola

Best Host or Interviewer in a News Information Program or Series Mark Kelley -Connect with Mark Kelley

Best Lifestyle/Practical Information Segment Ron Waksman, Laurie Few, Mary Garofalo, Brennan Leffler – 16:9 The Bigger Picture – Electronic Pickpocket

Best Lifestyle/Practical Information Series Til Debt Do Us Part Jamie Brown, Jennifer Horvath

Best Live Sporting Event HNIC on CBC – Heritage Classic Trevor Pilling, Sherali Najak, Brian Spear

Best Local Newscast, Large Market News Hour Ian Haysom, Clive Jackson, Randy McHale, Tim Perry, Doug Sydora

Best Local Newscast, Small Market CBC News Saskatchewan Paul Dederick, Chris Lane, Costa Maragos, Jonathan Shanks, Anna-May Zeviar

Best News Anchor Dawna Friesen – Global National

Best News Information Segment Adrienne Arsenault, Stephanie Jenzer, Claude Panet-Raymond, Keith Whelan – CBC News The National  – Mexico’s Deadly Explosion

Best News Information Series CBC News: Marketplace Tassie Notar

Best News Special Event Coverage CBC News: The New Governor GeneralMark Bulgutch, Tom Dinsmore, Fred Parker

Best Original Music for a Lifestyle/Practical Information or Reality Program or Series Graeme Coleman – Ice Pilots NWT – Arnie Calls It

Best Original Music Score for a Documentary Program or Series Claudio Vena – T O in 2 4

Best Original Program or Series produced for Digital Media – Non-Fiction The Test Tube with David Suzuki Rob McLaughlin, Loc Dao, Tyler Kealer, Kris McLaughlin, Nate Smith

Best Performing Arts Program or Series or Arts Documentary Program or SeriesThe National Parks Project Ryan J. Noth, Joel McConvey, Kristina McLaughlin, Kevin McMahon, Michael McMahon, Geoff Morrison

Best Photography in a Documentary Program or Series Daron Donahue – Code Breakers

Best Photography in an Information Program or Series Sean Cable, Todd Craddock – Ice Pilots NWT – Under Pressure

Best Picture Editing in a Documentary Program or Series Sally Blake, Avril Jacobson – Peep Culture

Best Picture Editing in an Information Program or Series Clark Masters, Richard Rotter – Best. Trip. Ever.

Best Science, Technology, Nature, Environment or Adventure Documentary Program Code Breakers Niobe Thompson

Best Sound in an Information/Documentary Program or Series Mark Gingras, Christian Cooke, Sanjay Mehta, Adrian Tucker – Yonge Street – Toronto Rock & Roll Stories

Best Sports Analysis or Commentary (Program, Series or Segment) Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games Anniversary Special Rick Chisholm, Robert MacAskill, Don Young

Best Sports Analyst Jim Bannon – 2010 Queen’s Plate

Best Sports Feature Segment Michael Farrell, James Cybulski – SportsCentre: Jay Triano and Terry Fox Feature

Best Sports Play-by-Play Announcer Mark Lee – 2010 Canadian Track & Field Championships

Best Sports Reporting Elliotte Friedman – HNIC on CBC – Heritage Classic

Best Sportscaster/Anchor Jay Onrait – SportsCentre Best Talk Series George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight George Stroumboulopoulos, David Freeman, Tania Natscheff

Best Visual Research Sonja Carr, Benoît Michaud – Meltdown: The Secret History of the Global Collapse – The Men Who Crashed The World

Best Writing in a Documentary Program or Series Terence McKenna – Meltdown: The Secret History of the Global Collapse – A Global Tsunami

Best Writing in an Information Program or Series Linden MacIntyre – the fifth estate – The Betrayal

Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program Life With Murder John Kastner, Silva Basmajian

61 winners in the Drama, Children’s or Youth, Comedy and Variety categories, as well as the remaining five Academy Special Awards, will be presented on Wednesday, August 31 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, hosted by broadcaster Jian Ghomeshi. The 26th Annual Gemini Awards will culminate with the Broadcast Gala on Wednesday, September 7th at CBC in Toronto with the presentation of the final seven awards.

Hosted by comedian Russell Peters, the event will be broadcast at 8 PM – 8:30 NT on CBC Television nationwide.

Established in 1979, the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television is anational, non-profit, professional association dedicated to the promotion,recognition and celebration of exceptional achievements in Canadian film,television and digital media. Unifying industry professionals across Canada, the Academy is a vital force representing all screen-based industries. Gemini Awards were established in 1986.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *